Unfriended

image

The good ole FB, where I spend waste way too much time looking up friends and stalking old flames. I’ve actually been pretty good at NOT doing the latter lately, so I deserve a big old pat on the back for that! Seriously, what good does it do me to see that an old flame hasn’t changed his profile picture lately, because that’s all I can see in his locked up, private account.

A few summers ago, I was talking to a good friend of mine about the old flame, and he told me that I should do something about this long harbored crush. “Why don’t you ask him out? My girlfriend asked me out when I go home from my mission and I loved it!” (Incidentally this good friend and that very same girlfriend got married today!)

So, I did it. See, back then, I was still friends with this flame on the FB. I had unlimited access to his timeline and could see that he was single.

“Hey! So this is random, but can I take you out on a date? I would love to catch up!”

“Sure! Let me know when works for you!”

So I have him a few options of possible days to no response. A few days later I checked in to see what he was up to and I was UNFRIENDED. (Dun dun dun!)

So… We didn’t go out and obviously we haven’t messaged since.

image

His loss, indeed.

2 thoughts on “Unfriended

Leave a comment